Kathy Garren

Senior Undergraduate Studies Adviser and Pre-Law Adviser
Hometown: 
I don’t have one. My dad was in the Army so I moved often. I was born in Louisiana and then lived in Wisconsin, California, Virginia, Germany, Virginia (again), Germany (again), Georgia, Pennsylvania, Kansas and graduated from high school in New Jersey.
Education: 

B.A. in Psychology and Women's Studies, Penn State
J.D., Northeastern University School of Law

Penn Stater since: 
1995 when I first visited campus and fell in love with it.
You can only become truly accomplished at something you love. Don’t make money your goal. Instead pursue the things you love doing and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off of you. - Maya Angelou

One item on my bucket list is to attend oral arguments in a session of the Supreme Court of the United States.   

I am afraid of flying despite how much of it I have done in my life. I do it because I won’t let the fear control me but as soon as I step foot on a plane, the anxiety I feel reminds me that humans are not meant to fly.

My childhood nickname was “Katydid”. My grandfather, an avid fisherman and outdoorsman, gave me the nickname in honor of a cricket. Now, I just go by Kathy.

My favorite job growing up was working in the office at my high school during the summer. I got paid to do all of my required summer reading.

I like to collect pottery. I love that it is made by hand and that no two pieces are exactly alike.

You may not know this about me, but I have been struck by lightning.


Pre-law adviser Kathy Garren

Mailing Address

Division of Undergraduate Studies
The Pennsylvania State University
101 Grange Building
University Park, PA 16802

Find Us On Google Maps

Phone and Email

Phone:
(814) 865-7576
Fax:
(814) 863-8913
Email:
Hours:
8:00am - 5:00pm (M-F)

DUS at All Penn State Locations

For information on DUS enrollment and academic advising at all Penn State locations, please view our list of Advising Centers to find your location.