When should I take the LSAT?

Most law school applicants take the Law School Admissions Test as required by most law schools.  A few law schools now accept the GRE instead of the LSAT.  For the list of schools and for more information about the GRE, go to ETS. You should take the LSAT one time (if at all possible) when you are the most prepared to take it. LSAC is in the process of increasing the number of times per year that the LSAT is offered.  Here are the released test dates for upcoming years:  

2018–2019 LSAT DATES

  • Monday, June 11, 2018 12:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 23, 2018 12:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 8, 2018 8:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, September 5, 2018 (Saturday Sabbath Observers) 8:30 a.m.
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018 a.m.
  • Monday, November 19, 2018 (Saturday Sabbath Observers) 8:30 a.m.
  • Saturday, January 26, 2019 8:30 a.m.
  • Monday, January 28, 2019 (Saturday Sabbath Observers) 8:30 a.m.
  • Saturday, March 30, 2019 8:30 a.m.
  • Monday, April 1, 2019 (Saturday Sabbath Observers) 8:30 a.m.
  • Monday, June 3, 2019 12:30 p.m.

2019–2020 LSAT DATES (5 additional dates to come)

  • Monday, July 29, 2019 12:30 9.m.

Law schools will see all of your scores so do not take the test before preparing! Most law schools take your highest score but some consider all of them. 

If you plan to go law school the fall following college graduation, you will need an LSAT score by September/November (depending on the year) of your senior year at the latest. If you can be ready for the test in June between your junior and senior years, it will give you a month after classes end to focus solely on LSAT preparation.

For more information, go to LSAC Future LSAT test dates.